Dr. Juliana C. Ferreira Receives Inaugural Philip Hopewell Prize

The Philip Hopewell Prize for Global Respiratory Health Research is a new ATS global research award in recognition of Philip Hopewell, MD, for his many years serving patients and the medical research community worldwide, and his exceptional contributions to the development of guidelines and policies.

Through this award, mid-career investigators in low- and middle-income countries are recognized for their clinical and research commitment and are provided support for professional development, networking, and mentorship.

Juliana C. Ferreira, MD, PhD, ATSF
Juliana C. Ferreira, MD, PhD, ATSF

The inaugural winner of the Philip Hopewell Prize is Juliana C. Ferreira, MD, PhD, ATSF, associate professor of pulmonary and critical care medicine at the University of São Paulo Medical School, Brazil.

Dr. Ferreira is an active researcher, with particular focus on mechanical ventilation and medical education. During the COVID-19 pandemic, she developed mechanical ventilation protocols accessed by more than 300,000 people throughout Latin America. She also is the author of 90 original publications, 17 book chapters, and a published book.

Her interest in global health has been apparent throughout her career. A 2003 graduate of the ATS Methods in Epidemiologic, Clinical, and Operations Research program, she has gone on to teach program courses and now serves as the co-director of the MECOR Program in Latin America.

Dr. Ferreira was recognized on Saturday, May 14, during the International Scholars Poster Colloquium in the International Participants Center, as well as during the Opening Ceremony.

Register for ATS 2023

Register today for the ATS 2023 International Conference! Don’t miss this opportunity to take part in the in-person conference, May 19-24 in Washington, DC. Join your colleagues to learn about the latest developments in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine.